December 30, 2011 (Plotting Pays Off!)

This post is brought to you by the number 18.

That’s how many chapters I outlined today. Woot!

In previous posts I’ve mentioned that To Kill the Goddess was written pretty much by the seat of my pants, which goes a long way towards explaining why it took so freaking long. This time though – I feel like I have a pretty good handle on things. I took those nine pages of notes I’ve been accumulating over the last couple weeks and chiseled them into something that actually resembles a story. I have character driven arcs for each POV character, twists, turns, and best of all, chapters already structured and organized with mid and end goals in mind.

All of that seems obvious, right? But let me tell you, but when you’re starting out and learning how to write and structure a novel all at the same time there are just some things you can’t do and – for me at least – methodically plotting out a novel wasn’t one of them.

So now I have my Excel outline file with eighteen cells filled in. Some of them are jam-packed with notes, others with just a sentence or two. I’ll come back to this as I write. I’ll fill in details as they become clear and then, at some point down the road, I’ll have another big plotting session and see if I can’t find my way to the end.

Here’s to being organized!

One thought on “December 30, 2011 (Plotting Pays Off!)

  1. Plotting rules. That’s the lesson I learned from my (still in progress) book 1. I didn’t try to plot that one out in advance, and I’ve paid the price–in extra time and work. My next book I’ve already done loads of plotting/outlining/story-boarding and it is going way faster/better.

Leave a Reply

