Today’s word: Marquess

So I know I tweeted that I was going to watch football all day but I just couldn’t stay away from the writing / editing.  The Scribblerati have always had a problem with my King Benedict character being a king and I’ve known for a while that I needed to come up with a different title for him.

And here I am with no more time left to procrastinate.  Enter wikipedia.

It wasn’t a new title for Benedict that was a problem. That one’s easy: duke. But what then would I do with Duke Alfred? Make him a Baron? Count? Viceroy? Long story short, I discovered something new: Marquess.

A Marquess rules a land that borders a hostile neighbor, which is exactly what a Marquess Alfred would need to do.

Nifty!

PS Am I the only one who didn’t know that?

2 thoughts on “Today’s word: Marquess

  1. Nope. I have a tendency to get them all mixed up. And, go figure. You’d think with the amount of historical romance I read and write, I’d have it all figured out by now. 😛

Leave a Reply

