Interesting Tweets – Blacklist Edition

Saw a couple of interesting tweets related to backlist titles.

Tweet #1

I don’t really know much about this guy or his writing, but what I do know is that he lowered the price to $0.00 and got what I would say is a pretty amazing response. Sure, he didn’t make any money on it, but he does have other books and I would bet $$ he will see an increase on those as soon as people start finishing the free book and begin looking for more.

Smart, smart, smart!

Tweet #2

Here’s a brief bit from the link:

“It appears to us [Open Road] that HarperCollins is trying to intimidate authors, overturn established law and grab rights that were not in existence when the contracts were signed many years ago. We are confident that we will successfully defend authors’ rights and we look forward to filing our response in court,”

Now I don’t follow every book related lawsuit out there, so I could be wrong on this, but I think this is the first time there has been a lawsuit about this. The interesting thing here is that Open Road is no fly-by-night organization. It’s CEO is Jane Friedman, who is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of HarperCollins Publishers Worldwide. Again, I’m no lawyer here, but this seems like it could be a big deal.

So what do you think? Good stuff?

That’s it for today, folks. Chapter 5 awaits 🙂

Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Interesting Tweets – Blacklist Edition

  1. Thanks for the note. The response to giving away my book was astounding. I’m a small press writer, and so my expectations around book publishing haven been leavened by experiences trying to sell my work. For instance, I once drove 300 miles to read in a bookstore on the Oregon Coast. No one came to hear me read, and during my reading to an audience made of the the owners of the store, and a friend, an actual customer opened the door. When the customer saw a reading in progress, she left. The struggling bookstore owners got up and rushed after her. So technically the reading started with three people, and ended with 1. Talking to other writers, this is not an atypical story. They are like, at least they let you read! Releasing the book at Amazon resulted in the equivalent of years of work if you look at the primary goal of writing a work of fiction as “getting books into people’s hands.” (Or in this case, into their Kindle library.) I suspect, as you point out, that an economy of possible readers who discover my work this may result in sales. Online sellers such as Amazon, Smashwords, and Lulu also provide the kind of metrics in terms of page view and sales that most users of social media expect. As a published author, I can tell you that is the very rare publisher who will give you any kind of statement about the sales of your book much less accurate or even timely statistics. The tools offered by Amazon, or these other vendors, I believe will make it possible for writers to not only exist but thrive in very specific niches. In my case, that is fractured literary realism set in the Pacific Northwest, which is hardly a gigantic “market.” But thanks again for you post.

Leave a Reply

