Chapters 5 and 6 – in the bag!

It’s been a few days since I’ve posted a Daily Grind update. That’s because I’ve been hard at work on Chapter 5. Chapter 6 was easy – I cruised through that without a hitch this evening, but Chapter 5 is another story.

If Chapter 4 was saved by Lisa, then chapter 5 is really saved by the whole gang. Chapter 5 wasn’t bad, per se. The problem was that it was old. Chapter 5 is one of the few chapters that wasn’t completely rewritten in the last draft and it was plagued by this old tendency I used to have – I call it backing into a story.

Chapter 5 was a typical example of backing in. It started out with some great descriptions of the setting, moved into some interaction between two of my main characters, Seamus and Airelai, and then dove into a bunch of crazy stuff that I tried to explain as I was going on. That’s what I mean by backing in. The proper way to write this chapter – any chapter – is to set it up properly from the beginning, so that by the time we get into the crazy stuff, you don’t have to spend a whole bunch of time explaining all the things the reader should have known in the first place.

Sounds simple, eh? Well, apparently not!

But all is well. It’s fixed and Chapter 6 was a breeze, so…

On to chapter 7!

Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

