And the results of my February #writegoal are…

I didn’t make it.

poo.

My goal was to get through final edits on chapters 13 through 23. That didn’t happen, but here’s the deal: I actually got more writing and editing done then that.

Those of you who have been following along know that a couple of weeks ago I had an epiphany regarding Cassondra’s character arc. The result? A boatload of changes.

  • Chapter 19 went away. Parts of it were folded into 13.5 and I wrote the rest of 13.5.
  • Chapter 14 experienced some major changes; a lot of rearranging due to events in 13.5.
  • I wrote another completely new chapter, 16.5, which is now on its second draft.
  • I finished final edits for chapter 10, rewritten several weeks back.
  • Also finished final edits on chapters 20 and 21.

I didn’t meet my #writegoal, but it wasn’t for lack of trying!

As for what’s next, I need to catch up. There’s a couple of small changes that need to be made to Chapter 18, and I need to finish final edits on Chapters 22 and 23. After that, it’s on to Part Three. The ripples from the changes to Cassondra’s act should begin to smooth out at that point, but there are other changes coming up. There’s going to be a big rewrite for a particularly nasty and off-putting scene with Kaytlyn. And then there’s the ending. I’ve got some work to do there because, let me tell you, it’s really hard to write a decent ending to a book when the story doesn’t actually end. I suppose all series authors run into that problem at one point or another, but still, this one is particularly vexing. Woe!

So, #writegoal for March: ideally, I’d like to finish the whole thing. Realistically, I would be pretty happy if I could get through the changes with Kaytlyn and then plot out what I want to do with the ending.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

PS What’s the deal with the .5 chapters? It’s easier doing that then renumbering everything every time I reorder stuff. Don’t worry, there won’t be any fractions when I’m done. 🙂

One thought on “And the results of my February #writegoal are…

Leave a Reply

