Trolls!

How long has it been since my last update? A week? I need to do something about that. Soon – I promise!

Remember those two new chapters I said I had to write? I finished first drafts for both of them and a second draft on the first half of the first. But that’s not why I’m writing this. I’m writing because –

Trolls!

You see, I was working on the first draft of those two chapters, and a nagging notion kept hammering at the back of my thoughts. It’s one I’ve been having for a while because every time I read a reference to lava tubes (which play a critical role in my story) I think, you really need to work them into the early parts of the story more. Which I do. And so –

Trolls!

Chapter 8 used to start with a fine yet somewhat droll account of setting and lead-in to an awesome fight. Now it starts with a troll. A naked, roaring, tree swinging troll with balls the size of boulders. It lives in a lava tube and attacks when Coltrane and his troops ride by. It’s pure awesome.

Credit where credit is due

I believe it was Jon who gave me the nugget of an idea for the troll scene.

And speaking of Jon, his short story Harris is getting published in Cifiscape Vol II. Check out his blog about it here on the Scribblerati website.

One thought on “Trolls!

  1. Thanks for the mention! Sorry you can’t make it out Saturday.

    I love the Troll idea (I can only assume he won’t be wearing pants…). I have a couple appearing in upcoming chapters of my new thing too. Trolls and Feral Pixies. I think you’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

