My book is fat!

It wasn’t that long ago that I was blogging about how even though my book was 132,000 words, that’s how big it needed to be to tell the story.

Then somewhere around the last half to third of my previous draft, I started noticing a lot of chaff amongst the wheat, and then I started getting good at weeding it out. By the end of my last draft it was down to 116K. That’s still long, even for epic fantasy, but it proved to me that my book wasn’t big boned, it was just plain fat!

So that’s the main focus on this final pass. I’m putting my book on a strict diet that – I hope – will slim my word count down to under 100K.

It’s going well so far. I’m on chapter 3 and I’ve cut out over 1000 already.

I think there’s a chance that To Kill the Goddess just might fit into her skinny jeans!

Leave a Reply

