The First 1000 Words

Waiting

To Kill the Goddess is with my editor.

This is an awesome thing. It’s a huge step, and I should be so excited.

But the wait is making me crazy!

And in the meantime, where am I at with book 2? Not a single word written. A blank slate. Nothing.

Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve been in this position? So long that I have no tools for this in my writing chest. I don’t know how to start and that’s even scarier than the wait for my editor.

Moving On

I’m trying to take my own advice and put words on the page, but right now that is so much easier said than done. Where do i start? It doesn’t help that instead of having one main character, I have 6. So where does the story begin? Which one do I start with? Even worse, I could easily go all George RR Martin on this thing with like a dozen or more characters – if I wanted – and someone please organize an intervention if I do!

Yes, my friends, I problems!

But – after a week of freaking myself out – I finally picked a character and started writing. I don’t know if it’s the right one, but it’s a start.

Now I’m on chapter 2, with over 1000 word in the bag, and I know this is what I need to keep doing. I need to keep picking characters and just start writing.

Intellectually, I know that after a while it will begin to come together, that I will start to see where all the pieces fit, but right now every word is filled with a doubt and uncertainty that threatens to stall me all over again.

I need to man up!

I need to take the 1000 words I have and do that another 80-90 times.

How hard can that be?

It can’t possibly take me another 10+ years, right?

RIGHT?

One thought on “The First 1000 Words

  1. well it’s about damn time….If you just would of gave me the rough copy I could have already read it by now! Instead I am thumbing through the Farseer Trilogy when I really want to learn how to slay a goddess!

Leave a Reply

